Zun Rule Clarifications

BASE RUNES OF ZUN

Actions

Banish

  1. We were playing banish as a complete skip, as in the player who was banished could not take damage, play cards, or have card effects played on them. Is this the correct way to play banish, or is a banished player still allowed to take damage?
  • Currently, there is no way to directly affect someone with a card after you resolve Banish. Only effects that ignore card text like the Overload mechanic would go through and damage you.
  • However, you do not skip your turn if you’re Banished. You merely can’t play cards or be affected by cards. You still have the opportunity to mulligan, resolve ongoing cards if they are to be discarded, and to discard and draw cards to 5.

Defend

  1. What if you have a defend active, share an attack to yourself but then redirect it? Is that kosher?
  • This is completely doable! Defend doesn’t stop Actions from being sent your way or affecting you in general, it merely stops your HP from being lowered by any normal card effect. Obviously, mechanics like being Overloaded (having more than 10 cards in hand and drawing more), which ignore card effects, will go right through Defend.

Reveal

  1. When an expose card is played and then a steal card, do you get to steal from the exposed hand or can the target pick up the hand for the steal?
  • If you are affected by Reveal, you must keep your hand viewable by all other players until Reveal goes away (typically at the end of that turn when it is discarded naturally). Not only does this mean that Steal works well in tandem with Reveal if played after, but this also means that any card you continue to draw while Revealed must also become viewable to the table (both through cards like Channel and normal drawing at the end of your turn if your Reveal went to you).

Steal

  1. How would an interaction play out where a Steal card is shared, 1v1, between the players, then redirected off of the initial player? Does Steal behave differently depending on who is causing the action, and does Redirecting a Steal back at the user cause the user to discard a card or does that create a “Re-Steal”?
  • For each Shared or original target, after Reaction cards like Redirect are played, so long as the end result is that you aren’t the final target, then you don’t have to discard cards. For each target, card text is only followed after playing or deciding not to play a Reaction. Keep in mind that Redirecting allows the new target a new chance to React. Also, keep in mind that, with Share, you resolve one target at a time.

Reactions

General

  1. Are you able to play as many reaction cards as you absolutely can in response to any one action (or reaction) targeted against you, or is it only one final reaction to cancel one action? Such as in “2. Bob can only play Redirect” or “Bob can play Redirect AND Trap”?
  • You can only play 1 Reaction card at a time (this is also true for Action cards). So you can’t play both Redirect and Trap in Reaction to one Action that’s targeting you in the same moment. However, if you play a Redirect, the new target you select gets a new chance to react–in this kind of scenario, you can play more Reactions sequentially if Redirect keeps passing the target back and forth. This chain would stop if the new target doesn’t play a Redirect, of course.

Redirect

  1. Can you react to a reaction that was played against you? Such as an attack was played, then redirected. Could that redirection then again be redirected, or trapped etc.? Or is it that a “reaction” can only played in response to an “action”?
  • Not technically. However, it feels like you can react to Redirect. Redirect lets you pick a different target for an Action that was played targeting you. If someone uses Redirect to pick you as a new target, you’re actually just reacting to the Action. So, Redirect can move an Action around as long as the new target keeps playing another Redirect.
  1. Are you able to Redirect an action, such as a Restore, that another player has played on themselves to yourself? Or would that not be possible because the action was not originally targeting you, so you are unable to react?
  • You can’t play a Reaction card unless you are the target of an Action (the Action will say “target”).
  1. If I choose to Steal from myself, then Boost Redirect that steal off myself, am I now able to Steal 2 cards from the new intended target?
  • With Redirect, you must be affecting an Action that can be boosted to play Boost. Unless Anarchy is out and affecting you, Boosting a Redirect only boosts boostable Actions!

Channel

  1. Is Channel just “draw two cards before somebody plays an action on you?” Can you use something from those two cards in your defense? Does “resolve” mean you can negate the attack, or that you must accept it?
  • Channel is a “once someone plays an Action onto the table and targets you with it, and before you let the Action finish, you can React with Channel to draw 2 cards.” You can only play Reactions when an Action is played onto the table and it is directly targeting you.
  • Resolve just means that you finish trying to “do” the Action with all its other cards that changed it. This just means that you do Channel’s effect, then you do the Action.

Trap

  1. If an Attack is Redirected, and then that Redirection is reacted to by a Trap, that Trap damage is taken by the person who played the initial Attack card? If that’s the case, can Trap damage be Redirected or otherwise reacted to?
  • In this case, Trap goes to the original player of Attack!
  • You can’t react to Reaction cards themselves, only to Action cards–also, Trap is forced. There’s nothing you can do about the Trap damage without something like Defend already protecting you.

Modifiers

Share

  1. Is the only use for a Share card to add 1 new/different target? Such as in a 1 on 1 game, can Share only be used to target both yourself and your opponent, or can it be used to target either party again? Like, again 1 on 1, if Amy uses Restore on herself to increase her HP by 1 and then modifies it with Share, would Bob become the other target by default, or could Amy opt to heal herself again, or, if because a Share creates a “copy” of an action card, could Amy cause herself to gain 1 HP and cause Bob to draw 1 card?
  • Share must target the other player in a 1 v 1. In a 1 v 1, you can’t share more than once since there aren’t any more “new” targets.
  • For “OR” cards like Restore, you choose the card effect (and thus the new card text) when you set it down. Your choice is locked to either Restoring a card (draw) or Restoring HP (healing). Anything after that, including copying the card with Share, will use your single choice. Sharing an Action with “OR” doesn’t let you pick different options.

Boost

  1. So when Boosting a Scramble, does that mean the target draws back to 6 cards after discarding their hand? If that’s the case, if you were to play Scramble against yourself, would you be able to Boost that Scramble before discarding your hand? – In regards to the Revive card, if you were to Boost a Revive to a defeated player, would they be brought back with 3 HP and 5 cards, 2 HP and 6 cards, or 3 HP and 6 cards?
  • Boost increases all digits (aka Arabic numerals that look like “1,” 2," “3…”) by 1 per Boost. Scramble plus 1 Boost means 6 cards drawn. Revive plus 1 Boost when bringing a player back to the game means 3 HP and 6 cards drawn.
  • When you Boost a Scramble, you’re still in the “playing” part of the Action. You can play as many legal Modifiers as you like after you set down an Action because it hasn’t “happened” yet. So, in this case, you can Boost the Scramble you played on yourself before you have to worry about discarding your hand and drawing new cards.

Reserve

  1. Would you be able to explain how Reserving a Defend or Reserving a Banish works?
  • Reserve always sends back the Action and other Modifiers that aren’t Reserve back to your hand at the very end of your turn, no matter what. Ongoing cards like Defend or Banish can’t last to the start of your next turn because Reserve puts them back in your hand at the end of the turn you played them.

BASE RUNES OF ZUN KICKSTARTER PROMO CARDS

Anarchy

Wild Magic

  1. If player A plays wild magic stating he is looking for a reaction that will effect player B and ends up drawing a channel card. Would player B get the cards from channel or would player A receive them?
  • Cards that do not have targets and instead just affect the player will gain their effects. In this case, if you point to player B and you get Channel off of your Wild Magic, you gain the effects because you’re still playing it.

Decree

  1. In regards to the pink card Decree, does the declared action of “reduce HP by 1” still impact Defended players?
  • Defend protects you from Decree’s “reduce HP by 1” effect, so they are not impacted by this form of Decree!
  1. In a playthrough ran into a situation where curse was on the field and the player played the card decree reducing everyone’s by by 1. So the question is what happens to the curse?
  • Decree doesn’t target anyone specifically, so there’s nothing that makes Curse move to another target. Since Decree says “all players,” you aren’t targeting them directly. This also means that Decree goes around anything else that involves targeting, like Reaction cards.

RUNES OF ZUN: SHADOW TACTICS

Actions

Curse

  1. Does this bounce between players indefinitely as actions are played, and/or is the only way to remove it by utilizing a Purge?
  • Right now, Purge is the only card that can get rid of Curse, though if someone is defeated with a Curse affecting them, Curse would be immediately nullified without resolution and discarded.

Punish

  1. Does Punish apply exclusively to ongoing actions, or does it apply to all actions played against a specific player on the targeting player’s turn?

Purge

  1. Another follow up question, would the new card Purge remove the effects of exclusively, explicitly “ongoing” effects, or does it also remove card effects like Expose, that are still limited to the turn they are played?
  • Purge only affects “ongoing” cards (which it states). It does not discard cards that do not have “ongoing,” so it doesn’t get rid of cards like Expose.

  • Briefly: Daze, Reveal, Anarchy, and Stash are all cards that I would consider as affecting that player if they either used Stash and it’s still active, and if they’re not Banished, and/or there was a Daze or a Reveal played on them this turn. Banish would stop everything else but Banish from affecting them while Banish is affecting them, so beware there with your combos.

Slow

  1. With the new ongoing action of Slow, if I possessed a Blame modifier for an additional action, would I be able to cause another player to take an action in addition to my 1 action, or does Blame not take effect as I would still be the one “playing” the card and not the “targeting player”?
  • You could Blame someone with an Action, but you’d be playing that on -your- turn, not theirs. And yes, targeting player isn’t quite the same as the player who played it, but it doesn’t matter since it’s not their turn (presumably the target who you’ve also Blamed Slow on).

Stash

  • Stashed cards are no longer “in” your hand, so they do not count toward the Overload rule. However, though we didn’t use the word “draw” on Stash for other reasons, if you put cards into your hand after removing Stash when you already have 10 cards, you would take Overload damage for each card added by Stash. In the same way, Steal would also trigger Overload. Adding a card to your hand via any method still triggers Overload if a draw from the deck would.
  1. If someone were to be purged while having stash active on them would the cards effected by stash be discarded? Or would they go the payers hand?
  • While it can depend on house rules, the implied rule is that because you can discard Stash at any time, you can discard it willingly even if you’re in the middle of being purged (even if you’re banished since you’re not playing a card, just interacting with a played card). In brief, we would say that the hidden card goes back to the player’s hand who had the stash because of this.

  • Because the trigger for the second half of Stash requires that you discard Stash, any number of cards that were hidden would all go to your hand all at once since Stash would be gone.

Reactions

Modifiers

Blame

  1. Does this card mean that rather than A Attacking B, A can force C to Attack B? Thereby if B was able to Trap, C would take Trap damage instead of A?
  • (edited 2/10/21) If A plays Attack with Blame, selects B as a target for Attack and C as the source player for Blame, and then if B plays Trap, C takes the Trap damage. Blame changes who’s “at fault” for the source when deciding things like Reaction cards. However, though you played the card, things that ask for “at the end of your turn” or “at the start of your next turn” would treat the card as the new target C and not as yourself. This also means that if you Blame a steal, then the new targeting player gets the card.
  1. Another follow up question, if someone is banished and someone else attempts to modify an action with blame so the banished player is now the targeting player, would that be allowed?
  • In short, you could point the Blame, but they are immune to card effects, so it’d be -mostly- useless. Like Redirecting or outright playing an Action at someone who’s Banished. You -can-, but it wouldn’t do anything.

RUNES OF ZUN: SHADOW TACTICS PROMO CARDS

Cheat

Mimic

Decoy

3 Likes

After playing a few rounds tonight, we encountered a situation that we couldn’t definitively work out, in regards to Share, Steal, and how targeting yourself works. If you target yourself with an Attack, you could then react to that Attack and Redirect it elsewhere. If you were to play Attack with a Share modifier, in this instance 1v1, to add yourself as a new target, could you Redirect that additional, separate Attack to the opponent, netting essentially 2 Attacks on 1 target?

And if that is the case, how would an interaction play out where a Steal card is shared, 1v1, between the players, then redirected off of the initial player? Does Steal behave differently depending on who is causing the action, and does Redirecting a Steal back at the user cause the user to discard a card or does that create a “Re-Steal”?

2 Likes

Hey aidancol!

That’s right! If you play an Action that you can Share in a 1v1, then play a Share on that Action, you and your opponent would be targeted. Of course, you would resolve things one target at a time, so make sure you pick the order you want. Now, when you target yourself with an Action, be it Attack, Restore, or anything else that isn’t (forced), you can play a Reaction.

In your case, you would get 2 Attacks on 1 Target if you used Redirect after using Attack and Share.

As for Steal, so long as you Redirect a Steal to someone else–and it doesn’t come back to you–then you could Steal twice if you used Share and Redirect. You wouldn’t discard cards in this case.

Steal only behaves differently when resolving the Action, not in the moment of choosing a target. Remember, playing a card and resolving a card are two different things. You don’t attempt the card text (per target when Share is involved) until no more Reactions are played. Of course, with Share, you would play Reactions and resolve with the first target, then you would repeat playing Reactions and resolving with your other Shared target(s).

3 Likes

Hey guys, having a blast playing, waiting on the second decks to come in. We can’t stop going over hypothetical plays with our quarantine game group. Had a question from a friend:

“What if you have a defend active, share an attack to yourself but then redirect it? Is that kosher? Because then you would be protected if the opponent does have a redirect”

4 Likes

“Prevent target from losing HP” just means your HP can’t go down unless it’s a card or rule that ignores other cards (like the Overload aka over 10 cards in hand mechanic). So, yeah, this is totally legal! I’ve done this often, even if just to Channel. In fact, I’ve Attacked myself without Defend so I could Channel…

2 Likes

I was playing a few rounds tonight and ran into a situation with the banish card. Originally we were playing banish as a complete skip, as in the player who was banished could not take damage, play cards, or have card effects played on them. Is this the correct way to play banish, or is a banished player still allowed to take damage?

3 Likes

Hey Conrad!

You are largely doing the right thing. Simply, it’s very difficult to take damage at the moment if you’re Banished.

Only effects that ignore card text/effects like Overload (the drawing when you already have 10 cards mechanic) can hurt you. Of course, the only way that would happen right now is if you had a large hand of 10 with cards saved with Reserve, to have played Banish, had it Redirected back at you, then the cards Reserved cards could come back to your hand since Reserve affects your Action card and not you.

Don’t forget that you can still discard from your hand and draw back to 5 cards, even if you’re banished. You don’t have to skip all of your turn, just the part where you would play cards.

2 Likes

When an expose card is played and then a steal card, do you get to steal from the exposed hand or can the target pick up the hand for the steal?

2 Likes

Expose stays in effect until discarded — like at the end of the current player’s turn. If Expose is played on you successfully, you even show cards you draw while it’s active (eg with Channel). So Expose + Steal lets you see and choose the card you’re stealing. :smiling_imp:

1 Like

In a multiple player scenario, if another player Banishes you, but they are then Defeated before their next turn begins, are you “unBanished” as soon as they are Defeated, or not until when their turn would have regularly occurred?

2 Likes

Here’s what we have in the rulebook on p20: “If you’re defeated 1. Immediately nullify and discard all cards you played and all cards affecting you without resolving them.”

In your scenario, the person who played Banish on you and then got defeated would have to discard Banish, freeing you from the effects of Banish early the moment they flip their HP tracker!

3 Likes

Hi!
Basic question here. If I play all my cards on my turn, can I draw up mid-turn? Or do I have to wait until the end of my turn?

2 Likes

Hey NationFamily!

As someone who loves to play all their cards, I hate to admit that you can only draw up after you’re done playing actions that turn. This is what makes cards that let you draw so powerful!

So the basic answer is no. You can only (discard any cards you dislike and then) draw to five at the end of your turn. Just don’t forget to place Reserved cards into your hand after you draw to five since the board cleanup happens after you draw.

1 Like

Came up on this tonight because we are mildly tipsy and not paying attention. If someone chooses to attack you while defended can you still react to it? I recognize while “paying attention” this situation would not occur, but in this scenario it did, unfortunately, happen.

1 Like

Hey Conrad!

You have the right idea! Even though an Attack card that targets you while you have Defend protecting you does no damage, the Action still works in all the other ways it normally would. Since you’re targeted by an Action, you get to play a Reaction card!

Came upon a question tonight while playing. If you stack reserve modifiers on an action would you get the action AND one reserve card back at the end of your turn, or just the action card?

2 Likes

Hey Conrad!

We thought about this back in development, so that’s why we added the final line on the card Reserve: “Reserve is aways discarded.” So while multiple Reserve cards Reserve each other, each Reserve also tells you to always discard Reserve. They at least say to discard themselves, though it’s honestly just as accurate to say that they forcibly discard all other Reserves on the same Action.

In short, you would only get the Action in your example : )

If I choose to Steal from myself, then Boost Redirect that steal off myself, am I now able to Steal 2 cards from the new intended target?

1 Like

Hey adiancol!

With Redirect, you must be affecting an Action that can be boosted. Unless Anarchy is out and affecting you, Boosting a Redirect only boosts boostable Actions! I hope that makes sense : )

The rules state that the beginning of your turn is playing an action. Does that mean you must play an action if you have one?

2 Likes